top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarolina de Arriba

Mexican Shrimp Cocktail, perfect summer pleasure


I got the opportunity to live in Mexico for 5 years. One of the things I enjoyed most of my time in Mexico was the food.


This is one of my favorite Mexican summer recipes. Every time I eat it I close my eyes and I imagine myself laying down on the beach, enjoying the perfect summer day.


Ingredients:

  • 1lbs shrimp (I use a mix of medium and jumbo) peeled and deveined

  • 1 cup Ketchup

  • 1/2 cup freshly-squeezed lime juice

  • 1/2 cup apple cider vinegar

  • 1 tablespoon of hot sauce (optional)

  • 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil

  • 1/3 cup chopped cilantro (optional)

  • 1/2 medium red onion, chopped

  • 1/2 large cucumber, diced

  • 1 avocado, diced


Instructions:

  • Bring water to boil with salt. Add the shrimp and let the water return to simmer.

  • Remove the shrimp and place on a bowl with iced water to chill for about 30 minutes

  • For the sauce: Sit together the ketchup, lime juice, hot sauce, olive oil and cilantro in a big bowl. (the sauce can be made in advance)

  • Rinse the onion.

  • Add onion, cucumber and shrimp the sauce and mix well.

  • Add the avocado and carefully mix

  • Serve cold and enjoy!


Note:

You can serve with some saltine crackers on the side and add some lemons if anyone wants to squeeze a little lemon on top.

102 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page