top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarolina de Arriba

Hispanic Heritage Month



National Hispanic Heritage Month runs from September 15 to October 15. This year’s theme is “Esperanza: A Celebration of Hispanic Heritage and Hope” which was created by The National Council of Hispanic Employment Program Managers (NCHEPM). “The theme invites us to celebrate Hispanic Heritage and to reflect on how great our tomorrow can be if we hold onto our resilience and hope. It encourages us to reflect on all of the contributions Hispanics have made in the past and will continue to make in the future. It is also a reminder that we are stronger together.”


Food always plays such a key role in many celebrations and gatherings, so thought I would share some of my favorite recipes to celebrate Hispanic Heritage Month.



Being originally form Spain I could not start with any other dish. Paella is a traditional Spanish dish. Having real paella once in a while is a treat worth having, no doubt. But I have found a great lighter version using cauliflower rice, so I can enjoy paella more often. Packed with veggies and lean protein makes it a perfect meal and the perfect bite.

You can find the recipe here.

Another recipe I am obsessed with, specially on the summer is Gazpacho. Gazpacho is basically a cold veggies soup. So easy and quick to make and packed with vitamins and in general so good for you.



The next stop has to be Mexico. I lived in Mexico for 5 years and my husband is actually from Mexico, so we enjoy Mexican food often in our house. Mexican food is packed with flavor and is certainly one of the things I missed the most from living in Mexico.

Here are a few "healthier" version of some of my favorite Mexican dishes:


From there, I have to go to Honduras. Honduras holds a special place on my heart too. I lived 9 years in Honduras. I went to high school and collage there, I had my first job and meet my husband there too. One of the most known traditional Honduran recipes is baleadas. Definitely a treat. If you are watching your carbs this might not be your go-to recipe, but definitely


worth trying and treating yourself.




Next stop Cuba. I have never been in Cuba, but I have always been intrigue. I have tried Cuban food before and I can imagine what an experience would be to immerse yourself in their colorful culture and gastronomy.

One very known Cuban recipe is picadillo. Or their Fricasé de Pollo (chicken stew).

Typically both of these are serve with rice, but you can substitute regular rice for cauliflower rice for healthier version of these flavorful recipes.



Let's go south! I once had a boyfriend from Brazil. Weekend dinners at his house were the best. Brazil, like Argentina is known for their cuts of meat, but my favorite was always the homemade cheese bread (Pao de Queijo). Just thinking of it make my mouth water.





Here are some additional Hispanic inspired healthy recipes that you might want to explore.

What is your favorite Hispanic inspired recipe?



20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page