top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarolina de Arriba

Let's talk supplements


Over the years, it has become increasingly obvious to me how important it is to be proactive and treat your body well NOW, so we can continue to be healthy and thrive as we get older.


I don’t share a lot of supplements, because I’m very picky about them (you should be too!), and there are only a select few that I take regularly because I make a conscious effort to get most of my nutrients from food. I try to keep things simple, and when I eat vibrant foods, I feel vibrant! However, there are some gaps that diet alone doesn’t always fill so that’s where I try to be intentional with the supplements I add into my routine.


If you are going to add any supplements to your routine is important you do your research first to pick the best options your can possibly afford. There are so many options out there and not every supplements delivers what it promises.


Here are some of the supplements I have chosen to incorporate into my daily routine.



Ashwagandha

I personally like to use Goli Gummies.

It helps me relax, restore and unwind. How? by keeping my cortisol in check, which also helps me control my stress eating and cravings and sleep better.


What is Ashwagandha anyways?

The ancient Indian herb, Ashwagandha (Withania somnifera), has been recognized for its medicinal properties for over 5,000 years. It is rooted in Ayurveda, a holistic and traditional system of medicine based on the concept that health and wellness depend on a balance between physical and mental health by utilizing natural medicine. Ashwagandha is also an adaptogen—a plant that helps the body maintain balance and adapt to stress. This function of Ashwagandha is well-documented and backed by modern science.




PMS Support

I have always suffer cramps on my period, along other symptoms like bloating, mood swings, sometimes headaches and most of the times cravings. I always thought it was normal, until I learned that it can be different.

I personally use FLO, a plant-based vitamin that takes a proactive approach to PMS relief. And since taking FLO, my period is no longer something I cringe about.



Vitamin D3

I used to have vitamin D3 deficiency. You can know with a simple blood test what your vitamin D levels are. Vitamin D is a fat-soluble vitamin that has long been known to help the body absorb and retain calcium and phosphorus; both are critical for building bone. We get vitamin D through exposure to the sun, so specially in the winter that we spend more time indoors I try to be specially mindful about taking my vitamin D. Few foods naturally contain vitamin D, though some foods are fortified with the vitamin, is really hard to get enough enough vitamin D just through food. Definitely talk to your doctor to learn if you need to supplement your vitamin D and how much you should take.



Omega 3

I personally like to take my Omega 3 in the form of Krill Oil. Most Americans are deficient in essential Omega-3s nutrients because we don't eat enough fish. I love to eat fish, some of my favorites are salmon and cod, and I also love to incorporate seafood in my diet, but being realistic and honest with myself, I don't eat enough. Omega 3 supplements can support heart, brain, joint, eye and skin health, and help fight inflammation. Like with any other supplement is important you consult your doctor before start incorporating it in our daily routine.


Probitics

Taking care of my gut health is a priority. When I take care of my gut I feel better, period. This year I did a 4 week Gut Nutrition Program. As part of this program I focused on eliminating certain foods for 4 weeks and adding more plant-based foods and probiotics into my diet. After the 4 weeks I reintroduced the foods I had eliminated. During those 4 weeks I felt fantastic. Once again, proven my point that when you eat vibrant foods you feel more vibrant.

Since I did that program I kept up with this probiotic supplement.

Adding probiotics to my routine helps me stay regular, avoid bloating and discomfort and feel fantastic!



To summarize:

  • The best way to get the nutrients your body needs is through your diet. Being intentional with the foods you eat and making sure you get a variety of healthy and nutritious foods is always the way to go.

  • Use supplements to close any gaps that diet alone can't support.

  • Always consult your doctor before starting to add any supplements into your routine.

  • When choosing what supplements to take always do your homework and make sure they are the best quality you can afford.

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page